Property Taxes

Collection of Property Taxes

It is the Treasurer’s duty to collect all taxes, certified by the County Auditor, which includes real estate, mobile homes, special assessments, buildings on leased land, utilities and grain handlers. The County Auditor delivers tax lists of the various districts to the Treasurer at the beginning of each fiscal year. Taxes are segregated in taxing districts, and the amounts collected are apportioned to the various funds; State, Area Schools, Agricultural Extension, Assessor, County, School, corporate entities and townships.
The following cities are located in Black Hawk County:
  • Cedar Falls
  • Dunkerton
  • Elk Run Heights
  • Evansdale
  • Gilbertville
  • Hudson

  • Janesville
  • Jesup
  • La Porte City
  • Raymond
  • Waterloo
Unincorporated Towns
The unincorporated towns include:
  • Dewar
  • Eagle Center
  • Finchford

  • Glasgow
  • Washburn
  • Voorhies
The townships in Black Hawk County are:
  • Barclay
  • Bennington
  • Big Creek
  • Black Hawk
  • Cedar
  • Cedar Falls
  • Eagle
  • East Waterloo
  • Fox

  • Lester
  • Lincoln
  • Mt. Vernon
  • Orange
  • Poyner
  • Spring Creek
  • Union
  • Washington