Board of Supervisors

  • 9 a.m.
  • Every Tuesday
  • County Courthouse
    316 E 5th Street
    Room 201
    Waterloo, IA 50703
Board of Supervisors in the Board Meeting Room

Agendas & Minutes 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.   

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes



Black Hawk County is governed and administered by a five-member Board of Supervisors, elected in staggered, four-year terms.

County Home Rule, which was approved in a State-wide referendum in 1978, broadened the power of the Board of Supervisors. Home Rule allows counties to determine their local affairs and government, provided that it is consistent with and not expressly prohibited by the Iowa General Assembly.

Duties of the Board of Supervisors:

The Board of Supervisors serves as the administrative and policy-making body for the county.

Among its functions are:

  • adopt a budget,
  • levy taxes to raise revenues for county purposes,
  • approve zoning changes and plats for new subdivisions,
  • establish and vacate public highways,
  • appoint boards and commissions,
  • make official canvass of the votes for all county elections,
  • fill vacancies in county offices, except for members of its own body,
  • supervise relief programs
  • manage all county buildings and grounds, and
  • approve beer, liquor, and cigarette licenses outside of incorporated areas.


In addition, the Board is considered to be the employer of all county employees and is therefore required to bargain with employees over wages, hours, and working conditions.